Sadler's Wells Opera Company - Die Fledermaus

Sadler's Wells Opera Company - Die Fledermaus

Catalogue Code: 782202

Barcode: 5050457822026

Release Date: 22 Jul 2013

An operetta composed by Johann Strauss II to a German libretto by Karl Haffner and Richard Genee, Die Fledermaus was first performed in 1874 in Austria. The earliest known recording dates from 1907, whilst presentation, performed by the Sadler’s Wells Opera Company conducted by Vilem Tausky, originates from 1959. The opera production was by Wendy Toye whilst the recording was produced by legendary producer Norman Newell.

1. Act I: Overture
2. Act I: "I'll Be at the Ball Tonight"
3. Act I: "Ah, Woe is Me"
4. Act I: "Drown the Truth in Wine"
5. Act II: "What a Feast"
6. Act II: "Chacun À Son Goût"
7. Act II: "The Laughing Song"
8. Act II: "The Watch Duet"
9. Act II: "Brother Mine and Sister Mine"
10. Act III: "I Have a Suspicion"
11. Act III: "Forgive Him and Forget"