Paul Chambers - 1st Bassman

Paul Chambers - 1st Bassman

Catalogue Code: 715702

Barcode: 5050457157029

Release Date: 15 Jun 2015

The final album Paul Chambers made as a frontman, 1st Bassman was originally released by Vee-Jay Records in 1960. It is both a surprise that it should be his final album, since on the evidence of the material contained within there was still plenty of great music to come, and also a surprise that it should be Vee-Jay who released it, given that the label had not exactly set the world alight with its jazz repertoire. The five track album was entirely written by saxophonist Yusef Lateef (an additional sixth track penned by Julian Adderly has invariably been added to later reissues of the album) and is somewhat unique in that Paul Chambers plays the acoustic bass, and as a lead instrument throughout proceedings. He is more than ably supported by Tommy Turrentine (trumpet), Wynton Kelly (piano), Curtis Fuller (trombone), the afore-mentioned Yusef Lateef and Lez Humphries (drums).

1. Melody
2. Bass Region
3. Retrogress
4. Mopp Shoe Blues
5. Blessed