Oscar Peterson - West Side Story

Oscar Peterson - West Side Story

Catalogue Code: 715462

Barcode: 5050457154622

Release Date: 19 Aug 2016

West Side Story debuted on Broadway in 1957 and the West End the following year. The film appeared in 1961 and was a major success, winning ten of the eleven Academy Awards for which it was nominated, including one for Best Music. It did not take long for recordings of the songs from West Side Story to hit the market, and jazz in particular saw interpretations appear from Andre Previn, Cal Tjader, Stan Kenton, Dave Brubeck and Buddy Rich. Oscar Peterson and his trio entered the fray in January 1962, recording the album over the course of two days after some intensive rehearsals. The end result is a compelling album that retains all of the sharpness of Leonard Bernstein’s score while mixing in Oscar and his trio’s improvisation skills. Extremely well received upon its original it has retained its popularity over the years.

1. Something's Coming
2. Somewhere
3. Jet Song
4. Tonight
5. Maria
6. I Feel Pretty
7. Reprise