Jimmy Smith - Home Cookin'

Jimmy Smith - Home Cookin'

Catalogue Code: 715432

Barcode: 5050457154325

Release Date: 18 Aug 2014

One of the most prolific artists of his generation, Jimmy Smith recorded some thirty albums for Blue Note between 1956 and 1963 and a further 26 for his new label home of Verve before the decade was out. Fortunately Jimmy Smith was as much about quality as he was quantity, and any one of his albums from this period stands comparison with anything any of his contemporaries were doing. The sessions for Home Cookin’ began in July 1958 at Rudy Van Gelder’s famed studio at his parents’ home in Hackensack, completing the recording almost a year later (although Jimmy undertook other sessions at Van Gelder studios during the course of that year)! The elongated recording sessions did not result in the album losing any of its spontaneity, with Home Cookin’ regarded as one of the best of his career. Featuring an eclectic mix of repertoire, including two compositions from Jimmy himself, Homew Cookin’ is a varied yet extremely enjoyable album. There is some dazzling organ work, courtesy of Jimmy, interspersed with Percy France’s emotive work on the saxophone, rounded out by Kenny Burrell’s exceptional guitar licks and Donald Bailey driving the beat.

1. See See Rider
2. Sugar Hill
3. I Got A Woman
4. Messin' Around
5. Gracie
6. Come On Baby
7. Motorin' Along