Eric Dolphy - Outward Bound

Eric Dolphy - Outward Bound

Catalogue Code: 714862

Barcode: 5050457148621

Release Date: 22 Sep 2014

Eric Dolphy’s time with Charles Mingus, John Coltrane and Booker Little saw him acknowledged as one of the most important bass clarinet soloists in jazz. His style was certainly original, leading him to be considered a hero to many and self-indulgent by others. Eric himself had a distinct view of his craft. “In my own playing, I am trying to incorporate what I hear. I hear other resolutions on the basic harmonic patterns, and I try to use them. And I try to get the instrument to more or less speak – everybody does.” Except no one could make the instrument talk quite like Eric Dolphy. Handed a solo recording contract with Prestige in 1960, he went through a burst of activity unrivalled before or since, recording some 13 albums in eighteen months, all the time expanding his musical horizons. Outward Bound was the first of these released, appearing on the New Jazz label. Featuring backing from Freddie Hubbard (trumpet), Jaki Byard (piano), George Tucker (bass) and Roy Haynes (drums), the album features six tracks, including three Dolphy compositions. With Eric one of several jazz musicians enjoying something of a revival of interest, Outward Bound is as good an entry point as any.

1. G.W.
2. On Green Dolphin Street
3. Les
4. 245
5. Glad To Be Unhappy
6. Miss Toni