George Lewis - George Lewis

George Lewis - George Lewis

Catalogue Code: 714812

Barcode: 5050457148126

Release Date: 13 Apr 2015

This ten track compilation features some of the best known George Lewis tracks, including Clarinet Marmalade, Dumaine Street Drag and Bucket’s Got A Hole In It. Much of the material George recorded was old time songs, all of which were given the unique George Lewis treatment. At a time when jazz was continuing to evolve, George represented something of a hark back to earlier styles. It was a style that found particular favour across the Atlantic, with George being revered as one of the last truly great New Orleans jazz men. Recognition might have come relatively late in the day, but George made the most of his new found fame, recording and touring and ensuring something of a lasting legacy. Indeed, George proved to be something of a mentor to a slew of British jazz musicians, thus ensuring New Orleans and dixieland jazz retained its popularity well into the 1960s.

1. Sheik Of Araby
2. Maggie
3. San Jacinto Blues No. 2
4. Clarinet Marmalade
5. The Old Rugged Cross
6. Bucket's Got A Hole In It
7. Dumaine Street Drag
8. Gloryland
9. San Jacinto Stomp
10. Lead Me Savior