Johnny 'Hammond' Smith - Opus De Funk

Johnny 'Hammond' Smith - Opus De Funk

Catalogue Code: 714272

Barcode: 5050457142728

Release Date: 22 Sep 2014

A vastly underrated talent, Johnny ‘Hammond’ Smith acquired his nickname in deference to his preferred instrument and to differentiate himself from jazz guitarist Johnny Smith (he would later shorten his name to Johnny Hammond). He signed with Prestige in 1959 and recorded a host of well received albums, commencing with Gettin’ The Message in 1960. Each successive album was funkier than its predecessor, so by the time he took his leave of the label at the end of the decade, he was considered one of the leading exponents of a style that would eventually become acid jazz. Of course, Opus De Funk isn’t acid jazz, but Johnny and his band, including Freddie McCoy (vibraphone), Eddie McFadden (guitar), Wendell Marshall (bass) and Leo Stevens (drums) manage to rock their way through the seven tracks with consummate ease. The material ranges from standards such as Almost Like Being In Love and Gone With The Wind to self compositions Shirley’s Theme and Sad Eyes. An exceptional album from an exceptional talent.

1. Opus De Funk
2. Almost Like Being In Love
3. Autumn Leaves
4. Say Eyes
5. Gone With The Wind
6. If Someone Had Told Me
7. Shirley's Theme