Peggy Lee - Blues Cross Country

Peggy Lee - Blues Cross Country

Catalogue Code: 713902

Barcode: 5050457139025

Release Date: 17 Jun 2013

Peggy Lee had recorded numerous concept albums during the course of her career, but few were quite as intriguing as Blues Cross Country, originally released in 1961. With the orchestra arranged and conducted by Quincy Jones (who also co-wrote a number of the album's twelve tracks), Peggy conducts a musical tour across the United States, visiting old standards such as Basin Street Blues and St Louis Blues, alongside specially created numbers such as The Train Blues and Boston Beans. Whilst a somewhat short album (the total running time was just under half an hour, something of the norm for albums released at the end of the 1950s and early 1960s), the mix of Quincy's brassy arrangements and Peggy's vocal make it a compelling album.

1. Kansas City
2. Basin Street Blues
3. Los Angeles Blues
4. I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City
5. The Grain Belt Blues
6. New York City Blues
7. Goin' To Chicago Blues
8. San Francisco Blues
9. Fisherman's Wharf
10. Boston Beans
11. The Train Blues
12. St. Louis Blues