Odetta - Odetta & The Blues

Odetta - Odetta & The Blues

Catalogue Code: 713502

Barcode: 5050457135027

Release Date: 25 Feb 2013

Odetta was at the forefront of the American folk music revival of the late 1950s and early 1960s, being revered by both the public and her peers alike. Odetta And The Blues is unique for its use of a jazz band as a backing group, including Buck Clayton, Vic Dickenson, Herb Hall and Dick Wellstood among others. The end result is something of a transformation for Odetta, taking her away from her traditional surroundings and into new fields of music. The end result finds Odetta almost being re-classified as a classic blues singer, so convincing a job being done on the twelve tracks on display.

1. Hard, Oh Lord
2. Believe I'll Go
3. Oh, Papa
4. How Long Blues
5. Hogan's Alley
6. Leavin' This Morning
7. Oh, My Babe
8. Younder Comes The Blues
9. Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
10. Weeping Willow Blues
11. Go Down, Sunshine
12. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out