Ray Conniff - Memories Are Made Of This

Ray Conniff - Memories Are Made Of This

Catalogue Code: 711382

Barcode: 5050457113827

Release Date: 1 Jan 2012

Memories Are Made of This was one of Ray Conniff's most commercially successful albums -- and also one of his most distinctive. The songs are a typical assortment of hits from the previous decade, but Conniff remakes them in surprising and creative ways. The album is strictly instrumental in its approach, with Conniff's chorus confined to the wordless vocalizing for which it is famous. Subtle Latin beats and playful arrangements transform Tammy and Three Coins in the Fountain into minor masterpieces; the listener may recognize the melodies, but Conniff's interpretations are refreshingly new. The repertoire smartly ties together traditional and teen pop to create a broadly appealing program of songs ranging from Love Me Tender and Love Letters in the Sand to pop oldies like No Other Love. Memories Are Made of This is simultaneously an infectiously fun album and an impressive display of inspired arrangements.

1. Memories Are Made Of This
2. Tammy
3. Young Love
4. Three Coins In The Fountian
5. Moments To Remember
6. My Foolish Heart
7. Love Me Tender
8. Around The World
9. Love Letters In The Sand
10. Unchained Melody
11. Only You (And You Alone)
12. No Other Love