Sam Cooke - Tribute To The Lady

Sam Cooke - Tribute To The Lady

Catalogue Code: 707922

Barcode: 5050457079222

Release Date: 12 Apr 2010

Originally released in 1959 on the Keen label, Tribute To The Lady was Sam's tribute to Billie Holiday who had died that year. At the time Sam was one of soul music's stars, as well as having a more than healthy gospel following, so the decision to trackle another musical genre was proof that Sam was not afraid of branching out and trying to reach other audiences with his music. Whilst only moderately successful at the time of release, the album has since gone on to be recognised as one of the best tribute albums to Billie Holiday; one great singer paying homage to another.

1. God Bless The Child
2. She's Funny That Way
3. I've Got A Right To Sing The Blues
4. Good Morning Heartache
5. T'ain't Nobody's Bizness (If I Do)
6. Comes Love
7. Lover Girl (Man)
8. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
9. Lover Come Back To Me
10. Solitude
11. They Can't Take That Away From Me
12. Crazy In Love With You