Petula Clark - Pet Sounds, Volume 1

Petula Clark - Pet Sounds, Volume 1

Catalogue Code: 705922

Barcode: 5050457059224

Release Date: 8 May 2006

A child star on radio during the Second World War, Petula Clark then branched out into films, beginning with 'Murder In Reverse' in 1943 and would make over twenty during the course of the next decade. It is as a singer, however, that she achieved her major breakthrough, first recording for the Columbia label in 1949 and switching to the newly formed Polygon label the following year and remaining with them for the next twenty or so years. This collection gathers together virtually all of her recordings from those early days, including that single for Columbia ('Put Your Shoes On Lucy') and continuing through her Polygon/Pye recordings. Volume 2 will bring the story a little more up to date.

1. Put Your Shoes On Lucy
2. Silver Dollar
3. I'll Always Love You
4. Clancy Lowered The Boom
5. You Are My True Love
6. You're The Sweetest In The Land
7. Beloved, Be Faithful
8. Fly Away Peter, Fly Away Paul
9. Tennessee Waltz
10. Sleepy Eyes
11. Teasin'
12. Black Note Serenade
13. May Kway Oh May Kway
14. Clickety Clack
15. Mariandl
16. Broken Heart
17. That's How A Love Song Is Born
18. Cold Cold Heart
19. Tell Me Truly
20. Song Of The Mermaid
21. The Card
22. It Had To Be You
23. A Boy In Love
24. Where Did My Snowman Go?