Louis Armstrong - Centennial Album, Volume 1

Louis Armstrong - Centennial Album, Volume 1

Catalogue Code: 705332

Barcode: 5050457053321

Release Date: 20 Sep 2004

Originally released as a double CD of historic recordings to mark the centenary of his birth in 2001, this is now being made available as individual albums. Having joined his first band in 1922 Louis Armstrong first came to prominence with King Oliver but would go on to eclipse his former mentor when he launched his own band. These two albums cover his recordings that became known as The Hot Fives and Hot Sevens, when Louis switched from playing cornet to a much brighter sounding trumpet, and are generally regarded as among his best recordings. More importantly, these albums reflect how much of an innovator Louis Armstrong was – he may not have invented improvised soloing by a horn player but he pretty much made the style his own, similarly scat singing. These albums provide excellent examples of both.

1. Cornet Chop Suey
2. Heebie Jeebies
3. Oriental Strut
4. Muskrat Ramble
5. Static Strut
6. Sweet Little Papa
7. Jazz Lips
8. Skid-dat-de-dat
9. Big Butter And Egg Man
10. Wild Man Blues
11. Melancholy
12. Willie The Weeper
13. Wild Man Blues
14. Potato Head Blues
15. S.O.L. Blues
16. Ory’s Creole Trombone
17. The Last Time
18. Struttin’ With Some Barbecue
19. Got No Blues
20. Once In A While
21. I’m Not Rough
22. Hotter Than Hot
23. Savoy Blues
24. Fireworks
25. Skip The Gutter