Miles Davis - Milestones

Miles Davis - Milestones

Catalogue Code: 704992

Barcode: 5050457049928

Release Date: 13 Apr 2009

Assembling a sextet that featured Miles on trumpet (and piano on one track), Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone), John Coltrane (tenor saxophone), Red Garland (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and Philly Joe Jones (drums), Miles' Milestones album is an album that lives up to its name. Recorded on February 4 and March 4 at Columbia's studios at 30th Street in New York, Milestones features Miles' first forays into modal jazz experiments, most notably on the title track. Whilst this was to be the last album the rhythm section of Jones, Garland and Chambers would play with Miles on record, Straight No Chaser would become the sextet's signature, with Bill Evans and Jimmy Cobb picking up where Garland and Jones left off.

1. Dr. Jekyll
2. Sid's Ahead
3. Two Bass Hit
4. Milestones
5. Billy Boy
6. Straight, No Chaser