Tennessee Ernie Ford - Sixteen Tons

Tennessee Ernie Ford - Sixteen Tons

Catalogue Code: 703032

Barcode: 5050457030322

Release Date: 20 Mar 2006

Tennessee Ernie Ford enjoyed just three hit singles in the UK, but two made it all the way to the top of the charts and the other stalled two spots short, a remarkable return for any performer. Of course, Ernie enjoyed considerably more success in his American homeland, but in both countries 'Sixteen Tons' proved to be an absolute smash, hitting the summit on either side of the Atlantic. What made Tennessee Ernie Ford so popular and unique was his ability to record in a number of different styles; his initial breakthrough came recording country and western, he switched effortlessly to pop towards the end of the 1950s and the following decade saw him earn Grammy awards and nominations for his gospel output.

1. Sixteen Tons
2. Mule Train
3. Cry Of The Wild Goose
4. I’ll Never Be Free
5. Ain’t Nobody’s Business But My Own
6. Shotgun Boogie
7. Mr And Mississippi
8. Ocean Of Tears
9. You’re My Sugar
10. The Honeymoon’s Over
11. The Ballad Of Davy Crockett
12. River Of No Return
13. Smokey Mountain Boogie
14. Cool Cool Kisses
15. Give Me Your Word
16. Kissin’ Bug Boogie
17. Sweet Temptation
18. Rock City Boogie
19. Stack-O-Lee
20. Hey, Good Looking